What's new
What's new

Knee mill with Trak AGE2 controller

Rocketdc

Aluminum
I'm considering replacing an old clapped out Bridgeport with a knee mill in better condition that has a Trak AGE2 controller. I believe SWI still services and has parts for their older controllers, but I have no experience with them.

All the parts I make are pretty simple, but It's getting tedious to do them all manually on my Bridgeport since it's so worn with a number of issues and needs to get replaced sooner than later. I don't have the room, budget or volume to consider a VMC.

Any issues I might encounter with the AGE2 I should be concerned about? Does this sound like a decent step up?

I see you didn’t get much response on this. I have a Bridgeport with TrakAge2. It was OK for milling rectangular pockets or specific distances. But in reality it is just too old. You have to do all the programming at the control, it uses a 3.5 inch floppy. Can you buy those anymore? In theory sure you can do it but it’s just so old everything is a pain. Mine stopped working a year ago or so and I haven’t found time to look into it. I assume it’s a power supply problem. I would like to get it going again just to use as a dro at least.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I'm considering replacing an old clapped out Bridgeport with a knee mill in better condition that has a Trak AGE2 controller.

If it has the TRAK sensors check that the scraper and pad are in good shape and renew them regularly. SWI still supports the control but their exchange rates on the pendant and computer are pricey. Otherwise keep the machine calibrated and run the backlash serv code and it will be a big improvement over a plain manual mill.

You have to do all the programming at the control, it uses a 3.5 inch floppy. Can you buy those anymore?.