What's new
What's new

Learning NX Just Starting

plastikdreams

Diamond
I'm starting to learn NX at work, kinda doing this of the side. One of the programmers has offered to help me out but I want to learn basics before I start asking questions. I have been using MasterCAM x2 since 2011 so I'm not completely cad illiterate.

Basically I'm just asking for some pointers. I can make shapes and extrude/cut but I can't figure out how to make a tool path.

There is an excellent book for NX CAD "Siemens NX 2021 for Designers" by Sam Tickoo. I found that this book gave me everything I needed for the CAD side of things. For the CAM, I am not aware of any good books. I chose to take a community college course which pretty much got me up to speed. There are lots of training videos but they cost $$. Also, much like CAD, I found that NX had a pretty steep initial learning curve but once the basics were understood it has become very intuitive. That being said, lots of hands on experience with generating tool paths and seeing the results is invaluable. The simulation tools in NX are very strong and very helpful in learning how to use the various CAM operations.

I'm starting to learn NX at work, kinda doing this of the side. One of the programmers has offered to help me out but I want to learn basics before I start asking questions. I have been using MasterCAM x2 since 2011 so I'm not completely cad illiterate.

Basically I'm just asking for some pointers. I can make shapes and extrude/cut but I can't figure out how to make a tool path.
There is a builtin tutorial for manufacturing, which I used to understand the basics. It's called day one or something similar.

Ok thanks guys, my next step was to look at youtube. I have resources in house, I just want to get a hold of the basics first. There's definitely a learning curve but it doesn't seem to be that steep...we'll find out eh 😀