What's new
What's new

Leblond lathe feed rod issue.

Shadbolt5thgen

Plastic
Hello all,
Backstory: I recently purchased a Leblond 14x30 servo shift toolmakers lathe. I’m new to machining but was hoping to go the buy once cry once option with this nice old American made lathe. When I inspected the machine everything seemed tight it took every gear first try and the ways had only the tiniest amount of appreciable wear. The machine did have 14k hours which scared me but it was as much as I could justify for ranch work.
Problem: After getting the machine home and running it for some small jobs it missed its first gear. Since then, has missed gears regularly but I can get it into gear by shifting it around. Anyway I was making a few cuts, shifted gears and the feed rod stopped turning. There is no movement in the feed rod or leadscrew. No matter what I gear I try. The coupler at the change box is turning so I don’t think it’s the shear pin there. Anyone have any ideas? The users manual says something about a safety overload device on the feed rod but it is pretty vague. Thanks in advance!

By shifting gears, I really hope you are turning the machine off, then wiggling the chuck or feed screw or other moving parts during a gear change. You can't just change speeds or gear ratios while something is running like you would a car with stick shift.

You did get the manual for that, didn't you? You can find manuals for the servo shift on line for free.

I do not have a servoshift, but I think the deal with them is that you can change the speed while the lathe is running and it will shift to the selected gear once the spindle stops. Could be wrong on that.

There's a push in collar by the gear box to engage/disengage the lead screw. You generally only have that engaged (pushed in) when you're cutting threads.