What's new
What's new

Looking for Brake Press Ideas for Large Radius Bend

m_ridzon

Plastic
I'm just a weekend hobbyist. I have access to a large press to bend sheet metal (e.g., my project is 3/16" thick steel). However, the press does not have a die set to make a large radius bend. In other words, it will only make bends with a tight radius. But my project needs a 1" radius. I'm looking for ideas to for how to get this large radius, without having to go buy a die set.

For reference, the attached Google image kind of shows what I'm trying to do.

(So far, I have not been successful tracking down a local weld/fab shop that could make the bend for me)

Thanks in advance!

Attachments

• SCREEN SHOT 1.jpg
    SCREEN SHOT 1.jpg
    86.2 KB · Views: 155
The bend needs to be 90°. The length of the bend is about 1.5'.

I like the idea of round bar with some flat bar tacked to its top. What about the bottom side, under the steel plate? Will a "V" shape do okay on the bottom side?

The bend needs to be 90°. The length of the bend is about 1.5'.

I like the idea of round bar with some flat bar tacked to its top. What about the bottom side, under the steel plate? Will a "V" shape do okay on the bottom side?

You're way overthinking this.

Punch made of roundbar push material into V. Width of vee is important it matches your punch so you can get to 90

Like garwood said, the width of the vee just needs to be wider than 1" so the 1" top die can get down inside it to give you 90º bend.
Only 18" long it is a no brainer to make the top die, if you can get a short piece of 1" round. Cold roll would be nice but not critical.

can we assume very low quantities since its a hobby? (with anything, quantity is as important to the solution as material and dimensions)