What's new
What's new

Mastercam Optirough Stepup Parameters

crossthread82

Hot Rolled
Hey all,

I'm a veteran user of Mastercam but something has been eluding me for quite a while now. When using optirough and I have stepups turned on it always retracts in between each stepup. I would like the tool to "spiral" up the part, constantly engaged in material for the stepups. I've seen it done in videos before but for some reason I can't figure out how to do it, I've tried what I think is every combination of parameters for the toolpath and it won't do what I want. I should also note that I am running mastercam 2022.

Here is a link to a video showing what I'm talking about:
Iscar, Mastercam X9 and Brother Speedio S700 X1 - YouTube

If anybody knows how to do this and can tell me what I have to change I would greatly appreciate it.

That's not a single OptiRough toolpath.
OptiRough cannot spiral up. It slices the model and will transition between the slices when needed.
You can see a retract happen at 1:20ish that is the separation of the two toolpaths.

That's not a single OptiRough toolpath.
OptiRough cannot spiral up. It slices the model and will transition between the slices when needed.
You can see a retract happen at 1:20ish that is the separation of the two toolpaths.

Okay... but if thats just multiple optirough's then shouldn't there be retracts between each step up? Or are you saying that was just 3 different 2d highspeeds with something like a surface rough flowline or waterline between each depth cut? They really should allow optirough to walk up a part or have an angular transition between stepups, or a keep tool down option. The retracts are annoying.

I was assuming he used a single optirough in that video because they were talking about using optirough, but maybe I am mistaken.

Ya, buddy doesn't know what's happening in the whole program. Yes OptiRough is being used but so is another path.