What's new
What's new

Mastercam vs nx cam???

adperfo

Plastic
I've been working with Mastercam for over 2 decades...the company i'm working for is thinking of getting NxCam in. I've spent a couple weeks in training on Nx and really not convinced.

Was wondering what you guys had to say about it. Don't know if there are people out there that have worked with both regularly that would have some input

Nx seems less versatile to cheating for modifying existing parts at first glans witch we do a lot of.

Any input would greatly appreciated

Thks in advance

I spent roughly 10 years using NX (CAD and CAM) and now 10 years using Mastercam (Solidworks CAD) at two different jobs. In both positions I've been the engineer, programmer and machinist. I do mostly 5-axis work for motorsports. I can say unequivocally that NX is a much more capable system. Some think that it is more complicated, but I think that mostly comes down to frustration of trying to learn something new. The documention in NX is notoriously poor. I think they do that to persuade people to purchase training classes.

If you are concerned with manipulating existing models then NX is definitely the correct choice. The synchronous modeling is very powerful. I would also encourage your company to leverage the CAD and PLM capabilities of NX.

Which has better support? Forums to ask questions? etc..

I found the NX support to be better but we didn't have a reseller so I could go straight to Siemens. I also had a GTAC account where I could search through incident reports from other customers. 99 times out of 100 someone had already experienced the same problem and Siemens published the resolution. Very rarely did I have a problem that needed their direct support. I would ask your vendor if you get access to a GTAC account to search problem reports. Very handy.