What's new
What's new

Mazak UN 600 opinions?

poxino

Aluminum
Hello guys!

I could not find any info on this machine, so I decided to start a new thread.

I am considering this machine as it's a very compact HMC, I am new to Mazak, but this particular one has Fanuc control which I am familiar with, for programming/operating and simple maintenance.
Because of the machine's configuration, I can also save 1 operation on my parts.
The machine is a 30 taper , I would be using it for aluminium only.It's a 20000rpm machine , I wonder if it had enough torque to take a skim 2mm deep with 63mm face mill on 7075 Aluminium.

It has 30000 power on hours and 8000 cutting hours so it is not new of course, I would like to know what sort of money it costs to rebuild that kind of spindle or the actual B axis if needed , I am not too sure about what to look for or what can go wrong with these type of machines
Any opinion is appreciated and If anyone has even run/owned one I would like to hear about it.

Thank you in advance!

You likely won't have anyone with first hand experience on these. They are extremely niche machines that were originally built for a large Mazak customer in Japan for a specific product family for running aluminum. Not something we import as stock machines, I've only seen them at the world technology center in Japan. UN stands for ultra narrow which is not an exaggeration, they make a Speedio or Robodrill look thick by comparison. The width of the machine is less than 1000mm They were made to be stacked in tight together, no service access needed on the sides. Spindle is 18.5 kW/24Nm or 25 HP and 17 ft-lbs of torque peak.