What's new
What's new

Milling Thin Copper (Warping)

WakelessFoil

Aluminum
We are attempting to mill a "T" profile on 24" long copper bars that are roughly 3/8" thick and 1-1/4" wide. You can see our set up in the attached images.

I knew milling copper was a pain from what other machinists have told me. I followed all the suggestions; use a 3-flute cutter, use high spindle speed, conventional milling, etc.
Everything went smoothly but when I untightened the vise the bar popped out and appeared substantially bowed. I read that when milling copper, some material is forced back down into the stock causing uneven tension along the Z-axis. Any tips on remedying or minimizing the deformation? This is my first time milling copper on the CNC machine.

Thanks,
JustinIMG_1454.JPG

My guy, a former Yugoslavian, would straighten it post machining, with a few blocks, perhaps a dead blow hammer and by channeling the spirit of his father, who kept the family afloat through the 70's and 80's rebuilding wrecked cars with hand tools, by eye. So that's an option.
The more fun thing would be to think about how to redesign it to avoid this problem. Can you divulge what it's for? You often want monolithic copper for thermal conductivity reasons but then why would you have the T-Slot. Could you bend it from sheet like a piece of unistrut? This has the feel of a physics research thing.

You could turn autofocus on your camera on, that'd be a good first step.

Any time you pull metal off a bar that's been cold finished, it's going to have a lot of stresses that go cattywampus. Before you straighten it in the press, you could try stretching it, that's what they do to extrusions. And there's also some pretty cool machines with a bunch of rollers that will straighten warped pieces of flat stuff, you just run your part through. But probably more money than it's worth for a few copper thingamajigs.

Sorry, no magic answer, going to have to straighten it.