What's new
What's new

Motor shaft questions

AllenHunt

Plastic
I have a pedestal buffer and I think I need to make a new shaft for it because it wants to walk across the floor even with no wheel on the shaft. One end of the 1" shaft has a .0005" runout and the other end has a .0015" runout. If I make a new shaft out of 4140 should I start with annealed or heat treated material? If annealed is the choice, does it need to be heated treated after the machining? I am a newbie with respect to making motor shafts.

Thanks, Allen

That is is exceptional runout. How did you measure that?

If the shaft is straight have it balanced.
Do you mean its good or terrible?

A 2 hp motor shaft .001" off is nothing.

If the entire internal rotor of the motor is off a few thousandths, it might do what OP describes.

Such a thing might happen if the motor was dropped, but im having trouble imagining how that might happened without also destroying it.

If this is a belt drive pedestal buffer and its 1" diameter shaft off by .0015" is causing it to walk around.. it should be bolted down....

i think any motor, on an un-anchored stalk would walk around , 48" above the base.
is there some reason this buffer is not fastened to the floor? have you actually tried buffing something with this machine? buffers can be scary beasts...they can snag and
snap a wrist .....throw the work in your face ...or worse. are you familliar w/ heavy polishing wheels? they are going to find balance with pressure.

at the very least, anchor the thing to the floor or a stable
bench . try it ...wheels on... then decide .

an avg of .001 " runout is excessive ? PUHLEEZE!