What's new
What's new

Mysterious wire break on Agie EDM main cut

8InchCaliper

Plastic
Hi everyone

I am experiencing this mysterious wire break alarm for the last few months on the Agie Wire EDM. It cuts no problem when cutting an open profile (like parting something off), but when it is cutting in a closed profile (starter hole within a block), it would break again and again. It even happened on a program that I had been running for the last 5 years with I perimeter (peak current) set at 18 with no issues at all in the past.

For example: I'm wiring a 1 inch thick stainless 304 block with a starter hole, I set the Z value at 2 inches due to strap clamps, and the wire would break multiple times with the I perimeter set at 18. The wire would break about 1 inch below the work piece inside the lower guide head. At first I lowered the I perimeter to 17, and it worked for a while, then started breaking again. I thought maybe I set the Z height a bit high and lost flushing, so I lowered Z value to 1.3 inches, it worked a while. then started breaking again. Finally I lowered the I perimeter to 16 and the wire break completely stopped, but then the cycle time is also a lot longer due to lost efficiency.

I already tried the following:

1. Cleaned and rotated the upper and lower power feed to a new spot.
2. Put in brand new bearings for the bottom roller guide (to prevent any jerky motions).
3. Double-checked the technology and perimeters.
4. Replaced pressure roller (pizza cutter) on the upper guide head
5. Replaced M14 Motor (done by the service guy) to get rid of another alarm "Wire cutter motor speed differs from the present speed”
6. Checked wire tension with tension gauge.
7. Made sure the water conductivity is not too high.
8. Made sure it's using high quality Japanese Hitachi wire.

Also I noticed the lower toroid guide has a groove on the center hole, see image belowUntitled.png