What's new
What's new

Need help understanding / wiring vintage RPC

Dwayne D

Plastic
I recently purchased a lathe with a 2 speed 3 phase motor, 5hp. It was sold with a cheap VFD that they ran it with, and the motor will work that way, just none of the other controls on the lathe work as it's all bypassed. I bought what was sold as a used rotary phase converter that had been running 3 phase motors on a farm. The guy I bought it from couldn't tell me how to hook it up, and I've been having no luck figuring it out from web research. I had an electrician buddy come over to help look at it, but he wasn't sure what to do with it either.

I'm well versed in single phase residential wiring, but I'm not a commercial electrician. It has a 25hp motor, and I believe it has a generator head on the motor. I have it hooked to a 100 amp breaker.The top contactor has L1,L2, and L3 hookups on the top. L3 passed through the contactor and travels straight down to the motor connections at the bottom of the cabinet. L1 and L2 connect tp the other contactors below and go over and do something with the transformers. I dont understand exactly what its all doing. I've tried hooking to L1 and L2 and leaving L3 unconnected on the contactor. I've put a jumper wire between L2 and L3 so they both have voltage. It will pull both of tue top contactors either way with this. I've tried putting the neutral on the L1. It won't pull the first contactor like this. I do know the motor and generator head spin freely. When you try to start it, the motor jumps back and forth. If you leave it trying long enough the middle contactor releases and the lower contactor engages, but nothing changes. Eventually it will pop the breaker. Hopefully someone has more knowledge than me and can tell me what I'm doing wrong.

Attachments

• 20240214_122859.jpg
    20240214_122859.jpg
    1,003.8 KB · Views: 17
  • 20240214_122923.jpg
    20240214_122923.jpg
    1.2 MB · Views: 17
  • 20240209_162353.jpg