What's new
What's new

Need help with my Automation

Tbarber

Plastic
I've been machining for about 12 years, worked with lots of different machines mostly mills, 3-5 axis. But now I'm at at shop that I am trying to figure out the best way to run my parts lights out. Most of my production runs are 2,000 - 5,000 pieces orders ( the part is a small aluminum .250" x 1.5"). So I made a fixture to hold 14 in .375 bars of material and mighty bites. And it has been working great. But I don't know the best way to automate this. Either change my pallet style and grip it on the sides or the center or change away from the fixture process all together. Since I have so many small parts I feel like it's not worth having the robot pick up each part individually out of the fixture. Instead swap the fixture out for one that's already prepped... Sorry for the long post but it's just a lot going on.

Any suggestions would be amazing!

So much missing information.
- What machine?
- Do you already have the robot? Have you considered a spindle gripper instead?
- How many ops are the parts?
- Do you want to make one op at a time? Or have a complete part come out every cycle?
- Consider that every automated cycle that I'm aware of is single-part flow
- Attach a picture of the parts, or a representative model missing info that you can't give out
- What is your current cycle time?
- Any tight location tolerances to worry about?
- Do you have enough time on these parts that tool life is a known?
- How long do you want the machine to run after you leave? Do you have the space for that many blanks?
- Do you have enough space for that many completed parts?
- Do you have a way to alarm machine / robot if coolant goes too low? If shop air goes too low? Broken tools?
- Do you have spindle probes to check for in-location blanks / parts, blank size, part loaded correctly?

- What machine?
- Do you want to make one op at a time? Or have a complete part come out every cycle?