What's new
What's new

New South bend lathe/machinery thoughts

sfeile

Plastic
I work as a maintenance wannabe machinist at a wood processing plant. I often make/replicate custom parts to keep our small fleet of old machinery running.
Right now I am running an old Cincinnati hydrashift 13x48. I also have a much older 16x60 flat belt driven south bend. Both are just plain worn out.
The company is looking into updating a lot of machines on the floor. I may have them convinced to update my little shop also.
I was looking at a south bend 16x60 tool room lathe to kind of replace both in one go, as well as increase my capacity to include metric turning since most new anything is metric.

So my question is does anyone have any experience with the new south bend equipment. Good or bad, or better options are welcome. Manual options though please, as my limited aincient schooling does not include cnc programming.
I'm looking to upgrade my mill also, and debating on getting the pair, or looking for a Bridgeport.

I have had one of the 13x30 8 speed South Bends for almost 9 years and it has never had a problem. From my limited experience in metal working it it much better than the Chinese offerings and better than other Taiwanese machines not as good as the Korean or Japanese. I have changed out the motor to a 3 phase with a VFD for softer starts, speed range flexibility and dynamic braking. My primary uses gunsmithing and part repair for friends and fittings for my volunteer FD. Customer service from Grizzly has been good and the accessories are also good quality. I also have a 9x42 variable speed SB mill that has also done well. One of my friends and mentor that sent 40 years in the trade says that he is impressed with the machines.

it's just a name ..."the one you trust" . has no connection with the O'brien brothers ,
any more than "the RKL" lathe that "leblond" has to do with the man..RK Leblond ..