What's new
What's new

Newb to machining looking for some advice on milling aluminum

Hello all,
I'm a bit of a newb when it comes to machining. I've done it a little bit, with wood, but most only a couple of times have done some very minor machining in aluminum to slot out some holes or something. I'm really struggling with my current project and looking for some advice.

First off, my machine. This is a machine that I built myself. Building stuff is one of the things I enjoy doing so I built this one after using a chinese 6040 for some small projects. It's got a 1.5 Kw spindle (water cooled, 24k rpm max) on it, and it has descent rigidity for a hobbyist machine. It's kind of based on the OpenBuilds Ox design, with some personal modifications to increase rigidity. I have a coolant sprayer that I have an air compressor hooked to so that it sprays coolant directly at the bit / cut and blows chips away at the same time.

I'm trying to mill some plates out of some 6061 aluminum. All the bits I'm using are 1/8th inch square end mill bits.

At first I was using some 4 flute AlTiBN coated carbide bits. I read that this was bad for aluminum after I completely gunked up and broke 2 of those. So, I ordered some 3 flute carbide uncoated aluminum specific bits. I've already broken two of these as well, but they don't appear to be gunking up like the first set of bits. The last break it just kind of looked like it wasn't cutting fast enough and got bogged down and snapped.