What's new
What's new

Odd Spindle bearings, Sealed 7905 Angular contacts.

firebrick43

Plastic
Hello, I have run up against a problem I need help with.

I am a CNC mechanic, hand have a Junkers CNC cam grinder that one of the small belt drive spindles has had the sub spindle go out on. We have 6 of these grinders(really two grinder put together as one half does journals and the other does lobes)

It has a JB belt that goes to a small stub spindle and then transfers through a flex coupling to the actual grinding spindle with a 3"~ wheel running around 11k rpm.

The little stub spindle has 4 bearings that appear to be 7905 angular contact bearings but they are sealed. I am the only one here that has any spindle rebuilding experience (from a previous job) but it was very very large milling spindles under 1500 rpm with very good documentation. We have no good docs from Junkers, they don't want to give us any, and a replacement assembly is not available till 3/2023:angry:

Any way one of the other mech replace the bearings with 6905 bearings without my knowledge and it subsequently failed a few days latter without surprise. I explained that they have to be angular contacts and I made some tools and partially disassembled another machines spindle to see what it had and found 25x42x9 angular contacts. They were sealed(i have never seen any sealed angular contacts before except 1 30tac something ball screw support bearing) and I was not going to remove them from the shaft and ruin them(to look for numbers on the race) but the arrows on the side, while faint, were in a Tandem Back to Back arrangement. Even then they would have the preload and precision class marked on the race it it was even visible.

I found and had them order an NTN 7905CDLLB/GNP4 bearing, which is supposed to be sealed, and the next day the supplier had provided 7905CDUL/GNP4 bearings which are open.
https://www.ntn.co.jp/jimtof2004/eng/pdf/PrecisionBrgs-e/PrecisionBrgs-e-162.pdf