What's new
What's new

Options to get scanned txt or csv files into SW2020

markz528

Hot Rolled
I am just learning solidworks so please bear with me. I scanned a part and have it as a txt or csv file. I can get it into SW2020 as a curve, but then I have no earthly idea how to to make changes to the curve. Acts like a block, but I don't think it can be exploded. This drawing is only 2D but I don't know that it matters if its 2D or 3D.

Any suggestions? Can the curve be modified short of tracing over it to make a new part? Is there an alternate way to effectively get the part into solidworks so that I can manipulate it and make a drawing of the actual part?

I used to do this successfully in Fusion 360 but now it needs a subscription to do it so I abandoned Fusion 360 and bought solidworks back in 2021.

I am just learning solidworks so please bear with me. I scanned a part and have it as a txt or csv file. I can get it into SW2020 as a curve, but then I have no earthly idea how to to make changes to the curve. Acts like a block, but I don't think it can be exploded. This drawing is only 2D but I don't know that it matters if its 2D or 3D.

Any suggestions? Can the curve be modified short of tracing over it to make a new part? Is there an alternate way to effectively get the part into solidworks so that I can manipulate it and make a drawing of the actual part?

I used to do this successfully in Fusion 360 but now it needs a subscription to do it so I abandoned Fusion 360 and bought solidworks back in 2021.
SW doesnt really have any native tools to handle scanned data well. your best bet would be to draw over the scan.
you can get plugins that allow you to work with point clouds, but they aint cheap

Thanks! I have a buddy that has converted them for me in Fusion 360, but I can't necessarily count on that anymore.