What's new
What's new

OT: I'm thinking about putting an addition on by building. Where do I get started?

Derek Smalls

Stainless
I'm considering putting an addition onto my existing building. Not sure where to start, architect, civil engineer, general contractor??? I've never done this kind of thing before and I feel like I don't even know where to get started?

There are some issues I know I need to contend with. The rear part of my property, where the addition will be, is about six feet lower than grade where by building currently stands, so I may need a retaining wall. Also there is a power line easement at the back of the property. Not sure what problems that will create or how close I can build to it. Drainage will also be an issue.

Ideally, I'd like to talk to someone, and compensate them for their time obviously, who could give me a realistic idea of what would need to be done as well as the approximate total cost of the project, before I get too far into this. I just don't know who that person is. I've contacted a few local architectural companies but they are all either too busy right now to get involved or don't handle this kind of project. Exactly what kind of company should I be calling?

Thanks for any help.

You need a general contractor (GC) that is familiar with your style of building. They charge 20-40% of the total cost of the project to oversee everything. They deal with the architect, engineer, all the governmental agencies that will make your life miserable, and all the subcontractors that do the actual work. The subs might be part of the general's company, or they might be individual companies. You will have one point of contact throughout the process: The GC.

When you get your quote, triple anything to do with the town/county/state government (design review, permits, environmental impact bullshit, etc.), and add about 50% to everything else and you'll probably be close.