What's new
What's new

OT: Motor Generator Experiment - Open Source Project :)

Status
Not open for further replies.

NeuEnergy

Plastic
BACKGROUND: I'm just a hobbyist who likes to tinker with projects from time to time to give my brain something to do. I do all my engineering designs in Solidworks - which I'll show later on. While I took a few electrical engineering classes in college that I aced, I never understood the half of what I was being taught when it comes to AC energy (I simply knew how to calculate, memorize or repeat it), so when talking to me about AC keep that in mind. DC I understand, but the classes were about 8 years ago and my knowledge is not by any means advanced. So yeah, here we have more or less an amateur in electricity who wants to work on an engineering project dealing mainly with electricity! Let the fun begin. :crazy:

THE PREMISE: I've seen many videos on youtube (you likely have too) of motor-generator experiments where the user picks two random used motors they have lying around, uses some shoddy piece of wood to hold them together and voila! We have free energy... The tests rarely feature any professionally designed or implemented systems. They start the motor with a power source, it spins the generator, the generator then supplies power back to the motor and the power source is removed, creating a "closed-loop" system wherein the motor functions on the power of the generator it's spinning... Often times they then connect devices like fans or lights (often with an inverter or similar device) to the system after removing the power source to show the system produces more power than being used to drive the motor... Sounds great in theory, but in application?