What's new
What's new

Pratt and Whitney 3C Lathe and Mill

smmagic

Plastic
I would like to start by saying that this is my first post but I have gained a lot of information over the few years that I have been a member. A little about myself, I have been metal working for a little over 6 years now, mainly working with micro machining of model engines or mechanical watches. I graduated from high school this year and will be studying mechanical engineering in college in the fall.

As for the lathe and mill. About a year ago, I purchased a Pratt and Whitney 3C lathe (7x16). It came with two chucks, one mounted to the original faceplate and the compound, tool rest, as well as a full set of collets from .050 to .375 by 1/64ths, along with 1/2, 5/8, and 3/4. Unfortunately, I am missing one collet out of this set, the quarter inch collet.

A few months ago, I was fortunate enough to find the companion mill; however, it was in need of much restoration. The only things that were included with the mill, were the original vertical head, a matched set of two original Pratt and Whitney vises, half of the original speed ranger, some odds and ends milling components, and only one horizontal milling arbor. Also there were three parts off of the mill that were completely missing – the clamps for the vertical head, the knee gibb, and the plate that covers the pulleys for the spindle. I am currently in the middle of the restoration for the mill and will post finished pictures of it as soon as I am finished.

The pictures below are the lathe in its current state and the mill and associated parts as I purchased them prior to restoration.

Does anyone happen to have a 1/4in 4PN collet, any Pratt and Whitney milling arbors, or any other Pratt and Whitney components that they would be willing to part with? Also any suggestions as to how to approach the missing gibb or other missing parts would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance

Attachments

• 20140905_211657.jpg