What's new
What's new

Purchasing CNC Business - Specific Industry Questions

dannyandthejets

Plastic
Long time listener, first time caller... (the main questions are in italics, I've never won awards for being succinct).

I'm looking as some CNC machine businesses listed for sale and exploring the idea of trying to acquire that business. I'm an engineer, plenty of design experience, very small amount of machine experience (enough, I think, to know what I don't know), a good deal of manufacturing experience (both in large, MTS product manufacturing and small MTO job manufacturing), and several years of business management experience. Yes, I have read the threads and understand based on prevailing forum sentiment that there is no such thing as a profitable machine shop. Yes, I have considered a hot dog stand. Problem is a I have a "hot dog stand," and I'm working on trying to move past the "slinging hot dogs" phase of my career into the "managing hot dog slinging" phase of my career.

I had a few questions regarding the businesses and industry that I hadn't seen discussed specifically. Mainly wanting to check some assumptions and impressions to see if what is in my head is somewhat accurate, as that could make a pretty large difference.