What's new
What's new

Questions about my new-to-me South Bend 9"

Troy68

Plastic
Something I surely didn't "need"... but I've been thinking of getting a lathe and possibly a mill for a while. Like most total newbies, I was unsure about buying a Chinese "mini" anything vs "real" machinery (although even that is delineated by "hobby" level). I found this lathe advertised as a South Bend 9C. Naturally I wanted "bigger" because, well, everyone wants bigger - but quite often that also means an adventure in transportation, setup, and power requirements. The other lathes available recently were mostly 4 times the size and ran on 230V 3 phase. I wanted to get started right away without a lot of hassle, waiting on someone else, or having to complete 10 other tasks. I tried to educate myself but that was mostly on condition (worn ways, missing gear teeth, etc.). In any case, the seller thought it was early 1950s based on family history. I knew from my research that it should have had a badge for hardened ways and some letters in the serial # if it was that new(?). Now that I'm home... near as I can tell, this is a 1929 9" Model "O" with a 4 1/2 foot bed. Catalog # is 22-R and the Serial # is "44911 A". I didn't really read up on these until after I had it home.

Attachments

• 424952774_122125687316169151_7970219784675085071_n.jpg
    424952774_122125687316169151_7970219784675085071_n.jpg
    103.7 KB · Views: 43
  • 428634559_122125679690169151_5848242671102252195_n.jpg
    428634559_122125679690169151_5848242671102252195_n.jpg
    115 KB · Views: 44
  • 428637283_122125679696169151_8999392425823179437_n.jpg
    428637283_122125679696169151_8999392425823179437_n.jpg
    102.2 KB · Views: 43
So some people might be like “I hope that didn’t cost you a lot”. Well, it came with all this (some I can’t identify).

Attachments

• IMG_9758.jpeg
    IMG_9758.jpeg
    1.8 MB · Views: 25
  • IMG_9759.jpeg
    IMG_9759.jpeg
    2.2 MB · Views: 27
  • IMG_9769.jpeg
    IMG_9769.jpeg