What's new
What's new

Roof Mounting - Do's and Don'ts

PM2.5

Plastic
I'm just wondering are there any mechanical do's and don't for mounting a robot upsidedown on a celing. In this case it is a Kuka KR4. The main difficulty I can see from a mechanical perspective is bolting it in position. Do people use hoists when doing this?
I'm not an automation engineer so I'm ignorant of robotic programming in general but imagine there is no difference in programming required when roof mounting apart from the X,Y,Z axis mapping points?

I think I would rent a scissor or boom lift if the space allows. As for mounting upside down why don't you contact the manufacturer?

Yes I have contacted Kuka but just looking for info from those who have built machinery and mounted robots in this orientation to see if I can garner any additional tips.

ours was attached to its bridge, robot feet up, then that was hoisted up to the gantry rails. The system is floor mounted.

The rigidity of the ceiling is not going to be good. I'd build a frame that attaches to as much structure as possible and know that I need to keep my acceleration controlled.

My gut says mount it to a sturdy frame from the floor, rather than to the roof. Building sway in the wind could cause problems with positioning.

Yes, and in my experience most modern buildings (built after 1930s, 1940s) have structures that transmit a lot of vibration and do indeed move with the wind. I wouldn't think it would be a good idea for reference points to be moving with a robot. A dedicated frame anchored to a concrete slab should be a lot more stable.

PM2.5,

a long time ago I worked for a robot manufacture.

We had to mount some robots to a frame close to the ceiling.

Fork pockets on the base of the robot allowed the use of a forklift with a rotator for easy installation.