What's new
What's new

roundness problem on long shaft

Jeremie

Plastic
Hi guys, im new here, but as a machinist i've been 10 years into it

it recently bought myself a CNC lathe 5 axis that can machine up to 120'' long.
usually on part that goes up to 100'' long i've had no issue on my cylindricity nor my roundness , i've machine with tolerances that goes to TIR and cylindricity of 0.0003'' from the 2 ends of shaft ( those are journals for bearings)

i've put a longer shaft this week ( 3.937''dia x 115'' long) the centerhole as been turned on another lathe to ensure it was centered perfectly. after doing the roughing operation ( 0.170'' over) im not able to to turn a spot on the shaft for the steadyrest that dont have run out ... it machine like a 3 leaf clover ... about 0.001'' at peak on the dial even stranger , when i dial on the top of the shaft (x axis) the dial indicate close to 0.0003'' run out but then when i move the dial to the side ( Y axis) its gives me the 0.001'' when im getting close to the tailstock though it turn closer to 0.0001''

what can cause such a thing ... i should be reading the same 0.001'' on top and side ? could it be my chuck is at problem? i've looked the high seems to be where the jaws are clamping, but thats not a perfect fit im chucked on 0.5'' long and after the rough i always unclamp the piece to remove any stress made during the process

the tailstock pressure is very low to make sur it dont bow due to pressure i've tried to change it without any sucess.

the shaft is in steel1018 annealed

anyone ever experienced this kind of problems? i dont know if it will work, i've tried to attached a video but it too large for the website

thks!