What's new
What's new

Safe load on Aluminum I-beam?

richard newman

Titanium
I have access to a 13' length of 8" x 5" x .230" I-beam, 6061 aluminum. Wondering what the safe load would be configured as in the drawing? I studied this kinda stuff 55 years ago, but never used it and it's long gone...

Application would be a small traveling crane for lifting wood into a 13' high access door.ibeam dwg.jpg

This sounds like a W beam. 5" wide flange on an 8" tall .230" web beam does not sound like the kind of thing you could run a trolley on to make it "travel".

I have an old 250 lb electric hoist on a little trolley running on a 12' piece of 4" x 2" junior beam. I would feel safer about that lifting a load than the 6061 beam. Atleast the steel will bend first.

No trolleys, the crane itself will be on wheels and roll back, similar to what's used to hoist stuff up on roofs. The "anchor" at the end of the 8' leg will be my electric pallet jack, which will also provide locomotion.

No target weight , as much as is safe. I'm moving to a new building, 2nd floor space, and an elevator that can't handle any lumber over 10'. Will take my machines, but I have a fair amount of 10' - 14' hardwood. Would prefer not to lift it up by hand, boards up to 4" thick. Crane service can't poke it into the 8' x 8' doorway.

Smooth concrete floor, or I'll put down 1/8" steel plates. Just need to move far enfu in to clear door, and then set down on dollies.

I'd recommend the online calculators to get some ideas about safe loads. I don't know what your plan is to marry the beam to the electric pallet jack, but the addition of some sort of diagonal brace under the beam end that (I'm guessing) is going to poke out into space as the business end will minimize the potential risks of overload. Ever since I looked at the data for deflection vs. yield for steel compared to aluminum, I have lost interest in making lifting gear out of aluminum.