What's new
What's new

shapr3d to toolpaths

rimcanyon

Diamond
Is anyone here using Shapr3d? I started using the demo version yesterday and completed a couple designs I would like to generate tool paths for, just so I have a proof of concept. This is my first foray into CAD/CAM, so zero prior experience going from design to toolpath. I have been programming in g-code for several years, but for this project I need to have some parts fabricated (I'm not setup to handle 12' long work pieces) and the company wants a CAD file.

Shapr3D has a lot of options for output files:
X_T,X_B,STEP,IGES,STL,3MF,OBJ,USDZ,DWG,DXF,PDF,SVG,JPEG,PNG and SHAPR

so looking for recommendations for CAM software that runs on MacOS.

So it looks like these three are possible (all have a free trial available): DeskProto, Bantam Tools, MeshCAM, Carbide Create Pro

If the company wants a CAD file won't they handle the CAM portion?

Either way the only *decent* CAM program I know of for a Mac is Fusion 360.

Rim
I think things will go a lot smoother and you'll have a lot of community support it you go with Fusion360 for CAD/CAM on a Mac. Fusion can spit out STEP files for your fabricator, too. I use Fusion on a Mac practically every day, and have done so for years by now.
RKlopp

I'm not willing to spend $hundreds per year for a Fusion 360 subscription. That model just does not work for me, based on the number of projects I do that are complicated enough I can't just program in G-code.

The real reason I want a CAM is so that I don't end up sending the company a worthless CAD file. i.e. by going through code generation I think I will have a better understanding of what needs to be in the CAD file, and what should not. e.g. do the edges of the material need to be in the CAD file, even though they will not be cut, or just the machinable bodies?