What's new
What's new

Smaller quantities of shim stock

MyLilMule

Hot Rolled
I've got a K&T 2HL that I am trying to rehab (not rebuild) and the table gib has seen better days.

Besides being a banana (I straightened it already to at least a reasonable degree of straightness), it has been broken and brazed back together at one end, has some significant scoring on the sliding side, and is worn down about .013" at my best estimation.

I have neither the capability or the means to properly machine and scrape a new gib, so I am just interested in making this machine work as best I can for now.

However, to find .013" shim stock that's at least 1" wide and 24" long has been met with limited success. I am a hobbyist and I don't have a need for a 6" x 50" roll at $60 a roll (McMaster). I have a limited budget. Are there OTHER sources of shim stock where I can save a little bit of money? Someone on another forum suggested multiple layers of shim tape. Is this a viable solution? I wouldn't be able to get it in the exact dimension.

Thoughts on where else to look? My Google-Fu is not returning any viable results.

.013" is not in that assortment. I'd have to use .012" - which MIGHT work, but it would push the small end of the gib too far to the other end.

Also, only being 12" long, I'd have to use 2 shims and I don't think it would stay in place. I wouldn't think using some kind of glue would be something I could do. Never done this before.