What's new
What's new

SO it looks like we are getting a thread roller

rjwalker1973

Stainless
Just like the title said, my boss is looking at thread rollers and hopes to have one within 2 months max. So my question to the forum is this. I have never used one before. This is a stand alone machine. I know the science behind one and I feel very confident I can figure it out. I just wanted to see if there is any little quirks to look out for or tips from folks with more experience than me with rolling threads.

Yep, there are dedicated, self-resetting, rolling heads that you can use on a CNC. Titans video here:

It's a rabbit hole of a subject. I still have not gotten to the bottom of it but, will probably be looking for one of these guys at IMTS. I had some fasteners that really shoulda' been rolled but, cutting worked okay.

Just like the title said, my boss is looking at thread rollers and hopes to have one within 2 months max. So my question to the forum is this. I have never used one before. This is a stand alone machine. I know the science behind one and I feel very confident I can figure it out. I just wanted to see if there is any little quirks to look out for or tips from folks with more experience than me with rolling threads.
Lots of machinist don’t know you can knurl with them. I had thousands of 316 SS knurled and never a bad knurl.
Also I had a 1000 piece job scraped by a new hire . The part had a .06 chamfer on one side and a .015 chamfer on the other end and he cut the .06 on both sides. I had about .015 material to turn off on the od and I Had the thread roller displace that stock
to the small side and saved all the parts.That was also 316 SS.

Years ago I ran a stand alone reed roll threader.

Pretty sure this isn't what you meant but a stroll down memory lane.

Three five start dies... one had to take light impressions and rotate the dies for proper thread line- up.
Hodge

Attachments