What's new
What's new

Tips for getting first customers?

walterwoj

Plastic
So I have a pretty well kitted out shop in my garage and I've been making parts for myself for 5+ years and I thought I would start offering my services to he public. I've had a sign at the end of my road advertising my shop for about 6 months. I haven't really had any takers... and I would like to get at least a little regular business for myself. I am aiming to do the one offs and simple jobs that the big shops around me won't do or only do at ridiculous prices although I am kitted out to do much more. I don't need to make a living at this but would like to supplement my income on nights and weekends. Does anyone have some suggestions for how to start getting some customers and start building my hobby into a business?

I live in a very rural area, I doubt there's a law about signs here and doubly doubt there is anyone here to enforce it. The building code enforcer is subcontracted and covers a dozen townships, there is no code enforcer here. :D

Try the search function. We get a startup a week trying to figure it out. The consensus is find a different trade. Too many shops.

I did a tally last week. 42 shops In a 30 minute radius.

Try the search function. We get a startup a week trying to figure it out. The consensus is find a different trade. Too many shops.

I did a tally last week. 42 shops In a 30 minute radius.
How many job shops? How many take on repair work? How many are strictly medical?
Finding a machine job shop for non production work is work. Finding one that can drill and tap 4 holes in a rectangle- with holes meeting tolerance of plus minus what a ruler can readily see/ buy a lottery ticket.

So... Some good idea here: Craigslist, (already have facebook), car clubs, machinery clubs??? (like old tractors?), motorcycle clubs, I have usness cards, no website...