What's new
What's new

Tool numbers in machine VS master tool list numbers.

Ryan at Sparrow

Aluminum
Hello, I seem to have painted myself into a corner. I have a master tool list with every tool we use in the shop which has a unique 6 digit number assigned to each. I run Haas mills mainly, so for a while I was assigning a separate number from 1-200 to each tool. That way any of those tools can be the same number in any of my machines. It worked awesome! Until now.. because now we have more than 200 tools.

Let me explain one thing for context though, we are not a job shop. We make our own parts and have very standard tools we use in almost every machine. So for ease I thought having the same half inch endmill tool assembly as the same tool number in each machine would be nice. (And it was / is!) But it's not going to work anymore.

I'm not sure why Haas only gave us 200 tool offsets but obviously people have been figuring it out. So how are y'all doing it? Keeping a pocket table sheet at each machine that you have to sift through each time you're looking for a tool? Assigning the machine a "crib" number so that it only has access to a set group of 200 tools?

Let me know you're thoughts, and if you have any idea how to implement this on a lathe I'd be all ears as well!!!

Yup. You can have a master tool list with thousands of tools, but that number should have zero relation to what the tool number is in the machine, or what pot number its in.

Does the Haas have the ability to have multiple tool tables? You could do an "aluminum" and a "ferrous" tool crib. That way you get (up to) 400 tools?

Consolidate your tool library if you can. Recycle unused T numbers.

Barring that, you can either have unique tool libraries for each machine or implement some sort of tool mapping strategy.