What's new
What's new

Tooling for a 1/2"-5 Acme double start internal thread 1.25" long

DMSentra

Cast Iron
I'm finding nothing on tooling for this, and a few major cautions that it isn't doable in tap form. I'd be using the alternating cut P3 in G76 if single pointing. But right now I'm fairly stumped on a tool for it??

I'm a novice when it comes to acme, even less experienced with double start.

I did a quick google and didn't come up with any double start taps, saw lots of chinese 1/2-5 taps though.

However, ebay got me closer, but not the size you need. I have to believe somewhere out there makes (or will make) a 1/2-5 double start. I found a 3/8-8 double start finishing tap: https://www.ebay.com/itm/3045767456...V+Vidli|tkp:Bk9SR9SR7K3RYw&LH_ItemCondition=4

That isn't terribly helpful, but maybe gives you hope. Otherwise hopefully someone can say where to get a proper insert and holder.

The manual machinist in me says you'd take a standard acme 5tpi bar and grind extra clearance underneath the leading edge of it, and program it like you said.

An internal 1/2"-5 acme? I don't think you're going to find any tooling out there unless you make your own. That bar is going to be awful small and flimsy.
My fist instinct was to check Vargus and Carmex, but the only 5 pitch acme tool they offer is for a 1" and larger.

Hi DMSentra:
I'm with Mtndew on this... a 1/2" OD double start Acme tap is going to be fragile as hell, and a single point boring bar to go 1.25" deep is going to be worse.
I am assuming the pitch of this double start thread is 0.2"...do I understand correctly then, that the lead is 0.4"?...or is the lead actually 0.2 and the pitch 0.1?

If it really is a 0.4" lead and 0.2" pitch, you have an impossibly big chip to take in one bite from a tap.
It's also going to dive into the hole at a ridiculous rate...almost 1/2" per turn.