What's new
What's new

Total noob here, how do I use a VFD to run my 1HP, 3ph motor on 2ph or possibly 1ph power?

easternMaine

Plastic
I recently bought an old Delta Milwaukee wood shaper that uses a 3 phase motor.
The Motor is 1hp 2850rpm/3450rpm, duel volt 208-220v/440v,
What VFD should I buy?

You probably have 230vac single phase for input power.

A 2 to 5 Hp VFD. At least 1.5 times your motor hp of 1. The general rule for single phase input.
You can buy a three phase input VFD and connect your two single phase lines to two of the three inputs. Like everybody else.
I would keep the rpm to 2850.

If you looked around for a few 2 - 5 hp VFDs and asked for opinions you might get more help.
If you have plans for more hp in the future you can always buy up to something like 5 hp.
Start with this link for 2 hp drives.

(no endorsement for wolf)

Last edited:
Most VFDs in this power range will run off of single phase.
You are only using part of the input rectifier so that is why you need to oversize the HP rating.
Once you get up into 5hp some (many) will bitch if they do not have all 3 phases incoming.

Not sure why one would want to buy a VFD off of Amazon, go to a legit dealer distributor.

Does anyone here actual evidence that a HuanYang VFD is that bad for the price? Sometimes chinese junk is good enough. I think i'm going with them.

Oh, any mention of them here was banned a bit back. Many threads.
Not super great but I have a few that have not died and been good to me.
Will they do 40+ years, I do not know yet.
Bob
I read somewhere about fan noise on them being load. Are yours that bad?

Not sure why one would want to buy a VFD off of Amazon, go to a legit dealer distributor.

With a brand name model would i still need to got one that's 1.5 times my motor hp? Also would it be possible to have more than one device hooked to to if I only ran one at a time?