What's new
What's new

Unsure about cam

Rusty nail

Plastic
I had been using inventor cam for about 6 years. Learned how to program with it. I thought it was really good cam software, Now I have changes companies and we use solidworks cam standard. I am really struggling with it. Is it just me or is solidworks cam horrible ?

Is it just me
Yes its all you.

Just kidding. 6 years is a long time on a package, hang in there and I'm sure things will improve. I've run a lot of CAM packages starting with MasterCAM v2 and I absolutely hated some of them for one reason or another but all got the job done.

Yes its all you.

Just kidding. 6 years is a long time on a package, hang in there and I'm sure things will improve. I've run a lot of CAM packages starting with MasterCAM v2 and I absolutely hated some of them for one reason or another but all got the job done.
Solidworks CAM cannot get the job done, though :LOL:

SW tries to be super smart and define features, tools, and toolpaths for you (kinda like Esprit, which can recognize turning features, part profiles, etc. automatically).

Except SW isn't super smart. The toolpaths it generates look like a kindergartner's art homework.

It's like asking one of the guys on the shop floor to square some stock to 1" x 2" x 3", and they said, "yup, sure, that'll be easy!"
You come back 1/2 an hour later to find the young buck, eyes beaming bright, holding up the finished block for your inspection. The block is 0.9" x 2.2" x 5", and one side of it is still saw-cut. It's out of square by .020" (.060" on that bandsawn side). Words cannot describe how utterly disappointed you are, but naive young buck is just as proud as could be, and thinks he's done a wonderful job.

That's what working with SW CAM is like.

Are you talking about SolidCam or something different?

I use Solidcam every day and really like it. If I didn't I'd immediately jump to one of the other CAM systems that people recommend.