What's new
What's new

VFD on Mill with power feed and DRO?

Zach.

Plastic
I have an acramill milling machine with some 110v receptacles on the back. The mill is equipped with a X power table feed and a DRO. I was wondering if there is any way to use a VFD to run all of it or if I need to consider an alternative.
Thanks!

My motor is 2hp 220v. Motor nameplate And my home shop has single phase.
You will need a VFD to convert your single phase to 3 phase for the mill’s motor. I like the Teco L510 VFD’s. You will need to figure out what size VFD to get. I imagine a 3HP VFD will suit your 2HP motor but I’m not an expert.
The mill’s power feed plugs into one of the outlets along with the DRO?

You will need a VFD to convert your single phase to 3 phase for the mill’s motor. I like the Teco L510 VFD’s. You will need to figure out what size VFD to get. I imagine a 3HP VFD will suit your 2HP motor but I’m not an expert.
The mill’s power feed plugs into one of the outlets along with the DRO?
Yes it does. It has a 4 prong 3 phase plug which leads to the receptacle where the dro and power feed are plugged in, then there is a wire that leads to the mill motor's original power switch, finally there is the wire that leads to a small cover on the side of the motor.

Yes it does. It has a 4 prong 3 phase plug which leads to the receptacle where the dro and power feed are plugged in, then there is a wire that leads to the mill motor's original power switch, finally there is the wire that leads to a small cover on the side of the motor.

Did you say that the mill’s motor is 220V single phase? That arrangement sounds like the mill is already setup up for single phase 220V. The power feed and dro most likely tap 115V power off one of the 220V phase wires. Does the 4 prong main plug look like a stove plug?

Last edited: