What's new
What's new

VFD Setup issues (Frenic Eco) - Motor not running

le_stan

Plastic
Hi,

I'm in the process of building myself a wood lathe, and that includes wiring and setting up a VFD to run the motor (Forward or Reverse) and control its speed. Nothing fancy, but I'm a true beginner in this, so as expected, my first attempts were not successful...

Components are the following:
- Start pulse switch (NO)
- Emergency stop switch (NC)
- Contactor (3 phase 400V with 230V coil)
- VFD (Fuji electrics Frenic-Eco 4Kw - Reference: FRN4.0F1S-4E - Fuji Frenic Eco F1)
- 5k Ohm potentiometer
- 3 positions switch (REV - STOP - FWD)
- 3 phase 400V asynchronous 2,2Kw motor (Note: I tested the motor removing the VFD from the equation (wiring the contactor directly to the motor and running it with Start & stop switches), and it works fine).

The VFD is connected to the contactor and turned ON or OFF by the start/stop switches (This part works fine).

I then would like the 3 positions switch to run the motor in forward or reverse, or stop it, and control its speed with the potentiometer.

Documentation can be found here:
Starting guide: https://www.fujielectric-europe.com/gallery/download/download_305/sg_eco_en_2_1_0.pdf
User manual: https://www.fujielectric-europe.com/documents/low_voltage_drives/F1_InstructionManual_EN.pdf

Here are the detailed schematics of the current wiring, as well as descriptions (from the VFD's user manual) of the input pins used.

vfd_wiring_schematics.png

As stated on the image, some components are not yet present:
- External fan (Will be used to cool the motor when running at low speed)
- External fan power supply
- NC security switch (the lathe will feature a lever actioning a bicycle style braking system in order for me to be able to lock the spindle in any position. If this lever is not in its rest position (brakes off), the lathe should not run.)

Current setup of basic functions of the VFD are the following: