What's new
What's new

Vintage Australian lathe issues/repairs/overhaul

pman92

Plastic
Hey guys,
This is a follow up to a vintage Australian lathe I was recently given (https://www.practicalmachinist.com/...vintage-benchtop-lathe-identification-393201/).
This is the first lathe I've owned but I have used lathes quite a bit before (but I'm no expert). Before I start using this thing I want to go over it and get it right instead of running it into the ground and turning it into scrap metal. When I received it it was very dirty. There's numerous components that have been broken and repaired before.

1. The T slots on the cross slide are broken. There's bronze brazing/solder where its previously been repaired but has since failed again. Until now its had a bit of mild steel plate bolted onto the cross slide in each corner that the top/compound slide was bolted to. It looks like a reasonably simple part (a dovetail on one side, T slots on the other, and a few threaded holes). I was thinking have someone make me a new one of these, or improve on the bent up steel plate bolted to the top. The dovetail has a quib (is that what its called?) to adjust it. What should I do?
20210804_173830.jpg20210804_173847.jpg

2. One of the mounts at the top (what do you call this part?) has broken and been rewelded/brazed on. Its not pretty but has worked fine for the past 10 years dads had it. I'll probably just leave this as is. Recommendations?
20210804_173919.jpg

3. The spindle had a lot of end float. There a nut with a slot in it on the rear, with 2 holes that look like it should be clamped onto the thread? however the bolt there is missing and I assume its came undone somewhat. There's a countersunk screw on the front side of it (not in photo) which I'm guessing someone has added as a solution to the missing clamping bolt. The casting on the rear bearing clamp is also broken (it only had the one bolt at the front holding it down).