What's new
What's new

Wanting to get into CNC and exploring options.

NatureBoy

Plastic
Hey guys, long time lurker, but newly joined member.

I will start this off with a little background on me, for it may help in shedding advice....maybe.

I have my paper in Manufacturing Engineering and worked in that field for a bit before branching off. My hobbies consist of cars and motorcycles, and making things for them when I feel I can do it better than odd the shelf parts, or for a drastically cheaper price.

So, with that little tidbit said, for better or worse, I am wanting to get a CNC mill to assist with my hobbies. This is where some advice would really help.

I have ran manual mills and lathes to make items, but I feel as if a CNC would assist greatly.

I have experience with designing items using CAD (SolidWorks, AutoCAD, Autodesk Inventor, Fusion 360, and ProE) as well as some CAM experience from years ago mainly with MasterCAM.

While I have SOME experience with CNC....I haven't truly ran one myself in about 10 years and even then, it was very basic.

So, my question to many more knowledgeable people out there; what would be a good HOBBY CNC mill be?

Because this will be for hobby use and not production, I do not want to spend a great amount of money because, well, there wont be much return.

As I have "shopped" for used machines throughout the years, I have decided that a machine the size of a Tormach 1100 would suffice for my needs. That being said, I consistently hear goods and bads of Tormach. Would I like a HAAS or similar? Yes, but again, that cost is too high for what I will be using it for. From what I have seen recently, I can get a Tormach 1100 from between $5k-$13k. Would I rather spend $5k over $13k? Yes, obviously.
Another feature that I would benefit from would be a 4th axis.

So, basically my needs of machine features would be:
-4th axis capable
-Coolant
-Minimum travel of: 18", 9.5", 16.25" (X, Y, Z)