What's new
What's new

Welding T 6061 aluminum 1/32" using TIG or MIG

godsenergy

Plastic
We have a tentative design for either CNC machining and welding 2 sections or welding 3 sections. The challenge is that the thickness of the T 6061 AL we want to use is only 1/32" -- super thin. I'm attaching the drawings of the 2 design choices to see if either or both are possible. If so; how do we keep the aluminum from warping during welding?VARTM_VALVE_H_17MAR2022 ramy welt top and bottom plates 2.jpg

Attachments

• VARTM_VALVE_H_CNC_17MAR2022 ramy weld top.jpg
    VARTM_VALVE_H_CNC_17MAR2022 ramy weld top.jpg
    86.8 KB · Views: 157
  • VARTM_VALVE_H_17MAR2022 ramy welt top and bottom plates 1.jpg
    VARTM_VALVE_H_17MAR2022 ramy welt top and bottom plates 1.jpg
    88.6 KB · Views: 149
First of all, I am not a professional welder. However I do have mig and tig equipment and have used them quite a bit. I have a spool gun for my mig welder and there is no way that would weld something that thin. Tig would be the way to go. I watched a guy at the plant weld two Coke cans together (just showing off) and it can be done. Just my two cents worth.

Interesting part. What's the internal design pressure? Also curious how you'll weld the second plate after the frame + first plate are welded together, assuming you also want it welded to the internal structure and not just around the perimeter.

You must have heard about TIG welders who brag that they can run a bead down a aluminum thin can.

With a good TIG machine you can dial down to 5 Amps. I am not in the brag bunch.

1/32" 6061, GTAW. At that thickness, you can pulse GMAW on very thin aluminum, but we are talking very specialized equipment.
This may be a game changer if it has to be pressurized.