What's new
What's new

What cutting tool i need to use for a long ID chamfer?

ISOLVE

Plastic
Hello Everyone, Rookie here. I am trying to cut the 45 degree chamfer as in the attached pic in my tormach 15L pro cnc lathe machine. May I know what cutting tool I need to use? I used a straight cutting insert and i broke it. LOL. I am very new to the CNC machining. TIA.

EDIT: Or may i know how to cut the chamfer? my bar size is .375".

Attachments

• 1.JPG
    1.JPG
    53.4 KB · Views: 44
  • IMG_1847.jpg
    IMG_1847.jpg
    2.3 MB · Views: 43
Well you will need a boring bar that will be able to fit in the center hole. .250" looks like it would work.

Otherwise there's no reason the boring bar you have pictured couldn't cut the chamfer. Did you try to take it all in one pass? You will need to take roughing passes before you take a finish pass with the bar following the angle. It should look like stair steps.

Well you will need a boring bar that will be able to fit in the center hole. .250" looks like it would work.

Otherwise there's no reason the boring bar you have pictured couldn't cut the chamfer. Did you try to take it all in one pass? You will need to take roughing passes before you take a finish pass with the bar following the angle. It should look like stair steps.
Thank you for your reply. Unfortunately I don't have .250" Boring bar.
I tried to cut it in two ways:
1. ID cycle with depth cut but for that I need a boring bar which fits the hole .250". So I didn't try this method.
2. Chamfer method, where the cutting starts from the edge of the .250" hole. after a two cut my insert broke. (not the cutting tip but the opposite side of the cutting tip)

Just an id cycle with depth cuts, nothing special then 1 cut to finish it.
What does Tormach offer as far as conversation toolpaths go?
I tried that but my boring bar is bigger than .250" hole size.