What's new
What's new

What direction should I set up a lathe to turn in?

PegroProX440

Hot Rolled
I am brand new to the CNC lathe, and programming in Esprit as well. Our lathe here is an Okuma LB3000 EXII and it is tooled up so the main spindle turns counterclockwise. So all of the lathe tools are upside down when I look at them from the door. Is there an advantage to this, is this the normal way to do things?

Our machine was set up originally by Gossinger as a turn key deal to produce a specific part. This is how they did it. The guy teaching me how to run the machine is not a lathe guy eather so he doesnt know as well.

It doesn't matter. How you have it is how the majority of us here in the states do it using RH tooling.
If you want to spin it the other way with the tools right side up, then just buy LH tools.
Legend has it that if you spin it CW with LH tools, it puts the cutting forces into the lathe bed making things more rigid.

That is normal. Gravity assist.

Was a head scratcher for me at first too. I learned CNC on toolroom machines that didn't run "upside-down".

I run left handed tooling as much as I can. I do not like standing on my head to change inserts.

LH tooling also puts the cutting force down into the ways vs trying to lift the turret. This is especially helpful for not so rigid machines.

Threading tools are still right handed of course for 99% of the jobs I run.

I've seen it before as well, its common to run the tools like that. As previously mentioned, if your tools are "upside down", you have the advantage of gravity helping with chip control.

RE Philabuster:
Tools direction pushing down towards the greatest support. You don't want the cutting tool direction to lift the work off the machine's greatest support.
Chatter and rapid dulling of Cutters often is the result of lacking ridgity.

Last edited: