What's new
What's new

Where can I go to learn Solidworks and Mastercam? Is fusion 360 any good?

Pistonring12

Plastic
As of now I currently work as an apprentice machinist doing dummy work (swapping out parts, deburring, little bit of manual machining.e.t.c) at a shop. However, in order to become more flexible, I want to learn how to program. The questions I have are:
1. Where can I go online to learn the fusion360 or solidworks and mastercam, are classes offered anywhere or perhaps tutors maybe?
2. Which program is a better option to learn longterm fusion360 or solidworks? For fun I have been messing around on the fusion360 demo version but have seen a couple people saying that solid works is the more professional alternative.
3. My shop is also moving forward with two new mazaks and selling off the haas's which I'm more familiar with. Other than the minimal training provided by my shop where can I go to learn the machines, perhaps directly to mazak in kentucky?
4. Finally, where can I go online to learn g code and m code more in depth? Is g code and m code the same from one brand to another? (haas to mazak)

Please keep in mind before replying that I have very minimal experience in machining and am trying to learn the ropes!

You should learn the software that your shop is using. No point in learning software X if your shop uses software Y...unless you don't plan on staying.

That said, the best software to learn to give yourself the most employment options is Mastercam for CAM and Solidworks for CAD.

1. Youtube (search fusion tutorials or follow channels like NYCCNC), Titans of CNC academy, etc. There are tons of free online resources available to anyone with the drive.