What's new
What's new

Where do the amateurs post?

JohnnyB

Aluminum
I'm a typical hobbyist ... I have an old BP, a cheap lathe, TIG, MIG, Gas, some bending equipment, good selection of tools, raw materials etc. Been messing around in the little 32 x 24 shop for 30+ years, maybe doing a half dozen jobs a year, mostly fabrication of railings, stairs, furniture etc.

Anyway, over the years I've picked up some knowledge but in general I know just enough to be wrong, break things etc. but usually get the job done. I've recently built a miniature CNC 3 axis mill, (picture below), basic setup, Teensy 4.1 32 bit controller, grblHAL, 2.2kw water cooled spindle .. all the usual garbage hobbyist use to construct something like this.

I'm wondering if there is an appropriate area to post my basic questions rather than annoy professionals with my stupidity.
Excuse appearance of the machine ... still under development.
Mini-Mill-1.jpg

A lot of good info in cnc zone without all the asshole comments from the "old boys" you get on here. Industrial professionals tend to be grumpy old dickheads. I know, been in the biz for 42 years. Cole from OK. And Teachmeplease from Florida are a couple of the young crowd willing to give good advice.
Good luck.
i r machinist

Speaking as a grumpy, irascible old fart - that doesn't look too bad. My philosophy is that rigidity is king when it comes to cutting machine design, so if you want to update what's there at some point I'd stiffen the base, the vertical column to base junction, and the bearing blocks to spindle connection on Z.

Aside from that, come up with a way of protecting the exposed bearing blocks and ball screws from chips. The ball screws and linear rails look decently sized, weak steppers aren't that impactful on this sort of machine, and if nothing else this will be a learning exercise at limited cost.

Many here will not like this and it is sort of banned to keep out tons of hobby BS stuff and that has worked.