What's new
What's new

Where to start with opening my own shop

stephon0913

Plastic
HI ALL,

let me start by saying it has been a dream of mine for the last few years to start my own shop. currently i have about 6 years manufacturing experience 3 of those cnc programming. i am confident that if i had the resources(money) for start up, even if that were enough to buy the very basic (mill lath band saw tooling, etc.) and run it out of my garage, i could make it take off after a year or so.i am passionate about what i do i love (just about)every aspect of of machining and manufacturing. i have quite a bit of connections in my area and my father in law has a huge client base at just about every metal shop in the region, between the two of us im sure we could have more than enough work in the first few months to get the ball rolling. the critical piece im missing is i havent been there and done that. im looking for some advice from some ppl who have been through it and can share some knowledge with me.sorry to be so short in writing but i think you get the basic idea. if you would like me to elaborate on anything just ask.THANKS.:cheers:

ps i have somewhat been working on a business proposal and wondering what kind of things should be listed on there, also say i just started out very small cnc mill in a garage small would i need a business licence for something like that?

I really don't want to pour cold water on your dream, but in all honesty, this sounds like how to make a small fortune....start out with a big fortune. Unless you have a lot of qualifications not listed, I don't think you have the experience yet. Its not only about making chips, its also marketing, bookkeeping, inventory control among others. I wouldn't depend on your father's connections, they may give you some small work, but, if it were me, I would not want to give major work to an unknown shop just starting up.

Talk to Ox and others that have started their own shops and are successful.

Tom