What's new
What's new

Best wheel for aluminum on my Harig?

FFWD

Plastic
Hey guys. I'm new to surface grinding and would like your opinions on the best wheel to use on aluminum? I understand you can't interchange between ferrous and non-ferrous wheels. If you have experience in this area, I'd be very happy to hear your thoughts on a specific wheel for the job. Many thanks.

I like a silicon carbide induced porosity wheel for aluminum. At any rate, no matter what you use it will require pretty frequent dressing. We'd need to hear more about what you intend to grind, how much material needs to be removed and what kind of finish you need to suggest anything specific.

Thanks! I'd like folks to share which particular wheels they are using for aluminum (and would buy again). That would be really helpful. Let me also add (since eKretz) planted the seed) a recommended dresser.

Still need the info I mentioned to make any further recommendations. Specific wheel recommendations will vary widely depending on application.

For aluminum, one of those Desmond rotating wheel type dressers like linked below are awesome. They give an extremely free cutting wheel for roughing. I'd switch to a diamond for finishing though.

For grinding a cylinder head a while back on my Micromaster 818 I used a 46J SiC induced porosity wheel. Turned out pretty good.

fhi7Ezh.jpg

2g0oMvg.jpg

Crap! I didn't see the rest of your post. It didn't come through for some reason. Forgive me for not mentioning specifics. Of course you need them! lol

Only removing about 4 thou max of 7xxx series aluminum on approx a 3" circle and want the best finish possible in doing so. Something similar to what 220 grit would give (or better). This isn't a heavy stock removal deal at all.

Thanks so much on your recommendation of the dresser. I'll check into it.

Crap! I didn't see the rest of your post. It didn't come through for some reason. Forgive me for not mentioning specifics. Of course you need them! lol