What's new
What's new

Help with milling cast

JacobRuter87

Plastic
I am new to machining (>15 months). I am trying to machine out some older Minneapolis Moline heads and I have been having a bear of a time. I have broken a 7/8" & 1" roughing endmill. I have also had the collet come loose 3 times on me. It was a brand new tool holder and collet, so the first time it happened I just figured there might have been a bur or something that was stuck in there. I am climb cutting (that is what I have been told is the best way to do it, per school instructor/former machinist). I know some of the issue I have been fighting is I have to have to tool hanging out a ways because I have to go 5.25" deep in some spots. Other spots I can go 3" from each side and I don't have these issues. I am really out of ideas and am hoping someone more experienced than me could offer some advice, because I am running out of ideas and booze to help with the headaches this thing is giving me.

Unfortunately I don't have a lot of experience with machining castings, but I can ask some questions that will help someone else help you better:

What kind of machine are you using for this operation? Manual? CNC?

What kind of speeds and feeds are you using?

What is your depth of cut and stepover?

What kind of tool holder and collet are you using? Do you have access to different toolholders? I will say I generally avoid using collets for endmills that large.

What kind of tools are you using? Are they Ebay/Amazon endmills or from a reputable brand ?

Could you rough out material using a shorter stickout tool and finish with the longer stickout?

Unfortunately I don't have a lot of experience with machining castings, but I can ask some questions that will help someone else help you better:

What kind of machine are you using for this operation? Manual? CNC?

What kind of speeds and feeds are you using?

What is your depth of cut and stepover?