What's new
What's new

Help with stamping die design

zpelgrims

Plastic
Hi.

New here, and relatively new to the machining craft as well.

I am looking for advice on how to create a die in order to create a specific shape. The shape looks like this. The sheet metal (likely mild or stainless) is 1mm thick. I am also making the blanking dies for inner and outer diameter blanking. I am remaking an existing part of a lamp. Small production volume. Outer diameter of the unformed blank is 120mm. I am 99% sure the original part was also formed in a die, so it must be possible..

Before I commence making the die set, I would like to tick off some (likely, since I am new at this) common mistakes...

• Should I blank the inner and outer diameter before forming the part?
  • To achieve the rounded shape, should I push a positive feature into a square cavity, not touching the end of the cavity? Or should I make matching positive/negative features and press until both meet?
  • How can I design the die so the part will be removable? I am worried about the extremely sloping sides. I feel like this will squeeze and stretch the metal between the die, making it nearly impossible to remove. How is this usually done? I understand springs can be used as ejectors, but it seems to me the clamping forces would be excessive for any spring I could fit into this die design.
  • Is it possible to achieve the amount of deformation we see on the sides with a small hydraulic press? I think it's probably around 15 tons - unfortunately there is no pressure rating on the press as it was home-built some 50 years ago.

Any other pointers are also very welcome...

Screenshot 2024-02-13 at 13.13.23.png

1) blank after forming I think would work well here.
2) you're correct that the metal won't touch the sharp cavity corners. However, make the shape you want in the die, accounting for springback (in the absence of calculations, trial and error might help)