What's new
What's new

Mazak - Harvesting job result data

Darren McCarley

Cast Iron
At work I'm a software developer, partial roboticist, network "guy", etc. (Aka, Full Stack Engineer.) Because my management knows I am also working through an ad hoc apprenticeship on manual mills, lathes, etc, I've been asked to determine the data I can harvest "post job" data from Mazak machines and then provide anaylsis on the data to assist in all manner of quality control, efficiency improvements, etc. To be completely honest, I have no idea where to start. Recognizing I have some of the best in the business here on PM, I felt foolish if I didn't at least try to as for suggestions, ideas, links and/or leads. Any direction would be greatly appreciated. For example: Is this data even available?

Mazak machines I'm aware of Integrex e-V, HCN-6800, and Variax.

What controls are on the machines? I know that data does exist and is available on the SmoothX control and newer machine controls. Mazak even has software to talk to the machines and monitor machine performance in real time.

If you go to the diagnostic screen and then select running control soft key, this is the data that is recorded. It shows the date, time, program number and records the machine status as the day goes on. These parts I am running are only a 4 minute cycle time so you see a lot of color changes between machine cutting chips and sitting idle.

Mazak Integrex i-400S with SmoothX control. First picture is weekly view of what the machine has been doing. Remainder of the pics are single day operation.

Attachments

• 20240128_010238_resized.jpg
    20240128_010238_resized.jpg
    634.3 KB · Views: 6
  • 20240128_010330_resized.jpg
    20240128_010330_resized.jpg
    636.5 KB · Views: 6
  • 20240128_010408_resized.jpg
    20240128_010408_resized.jpg
    608.5 KB · Views: 6
  • 20240128_010419_resized.jpg
    20240128_010419_resized.jpg
    678.3 KB · Views: 6
Last edited: