What's new
What's new

Okuma Z0 offsets for main and sub

zschary

Aluminum
i have a okuma lathe with a sub spindle and p200l control, I am brand new to this control..
what strategy works best for setting the main z offset for the part, as well as a G55 (fanuc) type 0 offset for programing the sub?
will do spindle transfers and machine on the sub etc... I tend to run quite a few diff types of parts and not huge quantity, I will use CAM, so want to set up a good way to go about doing this.. the machine does have a touch setter.. Im sure there are a few ways to do this on the control? What are the favorites? Do all offsets come from the "zero main tool" i am reading about in the manual...? thanks in advance

I always zero my turret face to the body of my chuck(s). No tools, jaws, collets involved. There is no G55 for the sub spindle. I also zero my sub chuck to the main to make part transfers easy to calculate where to grip from.

I always zero my turret face to the body of my chuck(s). No tools, jaws, collets involved. There is no G55 for the sub spindle. I also zero my sub chuck to the main to make part transfers easy to calculate where to grip from.
how does that work with a touch setter? You use one? so the 0 position off the main spindle 0 tool and all tools for sub based off that?

I simply touch my Sub facing tools off to the part in the sub and add 16 to the Tool Offset number that would be used by a Main facing tool. Say Main T0505 and sub T0521.