What's new
What's new

Should Gauge Block for Micrometer Calibration Correspond to the Micrometer's Maximum Measurement Size?

keon-inventor

Plastic
I know this may be a dumb question but I'm new to micrometers...
So if I have an analog micrometer that can measure up to 25mm (0-25mm), and only need it for measurements less than 5mm. And it came with those "calibration pins" for 25mm, but after getting two more of these pins from various sources, I noticed a ~0.03mm deviation between them, and I only need to take measurements <5mm.
Would it be possible to eliminate this 0.03mm deviation for measurement <5mm by zeroing it using a 10mm gauge block and then check the zero with 5mm and 1mm gauge blocks?

Or would I need to use a 25mm gauge block, then recheck with a 10mm, and then a 5mm and/or 1mm block?

Thanks

Why aren't you trusting zero and starting there? Your standards should not be that far off. What brand and model of micrometer? Do the tips close square and sharp with only slight twist of the thimble?

Also try closing the micrometer on a business card and pulling it through to clean the tips before measuring. Your feel and repeatability of your methods is critical with a micrometer.

The "calibration pins" you mentioned are also known as "micrometer standards". They're only used as a sanity check to make sure it's reading it's "zero" point correctly. They typically come with micrometers larger than 1". When a micrometer is calibrated, it's checked at several points through its full range. Gage blocks are made to a much tighter tolerance than micrometer standards.

Gage blocks are made to a much tighter tolerance than micrometer standards.