What's new
What's new

Cant Break A Chip Help!!

mhzinduction

Aluminum
Hey guys, I have a part that is just killing me when it comes to breaking a chip and I cant figure out what to do! (Newish to the CNC lathe world. mostly run 3 and 5 axis mills) Please be gentle with me its my first time....

We cant seem to get the chips controlled, they're basically turning into Brillo pads inside the hole.

Material 4140 1.500 x 5.000 Long

Feed and Speed (SFM 400) .025 DOC .003 IPR

Doosan Puma 2600 SYII

Royal Products QG-80 Collet

F08Q-SDUPR 2-ER Sandvik Silent Boring Bar (1/2) D 10XD Length Stick out​

Insert DCMT21.51LP Mitsubishi

Starting bore size .850 (there is a thread at the beginning about an inch long and after that the part steps over to about 1.062

We have tried carbide boring bars and heavy metal bars 5/8 shank also. I also bought a MAQ silent boring bar with coolant thru to try and help flush the clips out.

Attachments

• 20240326_170432.jpg
    20240326_170432.jpg
    1.8 MB · Views: 65
  • 20240326_170526.jpg
    20240326_170526.jpg
    1.4 MB · Views: 64
  • 20240326_170522.jpg
    20240326_170522.jpg
    1.3 MB · Views: 64
Please shine some more light on your problem.

I can't tell but it looks like the hole is blind. If it is blind, what is the bottom configuration? How deep is it? What kind of finish and tolerance is required? How many pieces?

Last edited:
i agree with TeachMePlease increase the feed rate you are on the very low end of the feed rate for this insert
or get a finer chip breaker to be at the feed rate you are using

I agree with what's been mentioned so far.

See if you can't find something like this in your Manufacturers catalog. Will help you find the proper insert/chip breaker combo to meet your conditions. Shows the expected work envelope for each insert style's chip breakers and edge geometry.