What's new
What's new

Do my spindle bearings need to be replaced?

404estop

Plastic
Hi all, new to the forum. 👋
I am a novice/hobbyist and I am trying to assess a CAT40 spindle. I believe the angular contact bearings are shot due to the vertical play even when the locknut is applied. My logic is that there should be no vertical play when preloaded otherwise there will be chatter on parts (but that's just a guess). The bearings sound and feel fine when spinning.

Here's a video demonstrating what I described:

So do these bearings need replaced or is the spindle fine?

Did it have the same movement when the spindle was fully assembled within its housing and the nose cap tight? If so, you got problems that are either due to worn bearings or improper assembly. It's unlikely the balls are so grossly worn, so I'd guess there's something off in assembly.

What’s the background of this spindle? Did someone try to rebuild it prior to you getting the machine? Was it loose when you got the machine? If worn bearings were the cause of that much end play they would be rough and growly when spun. Since you say it’s smooth makes me think someone tried to rebuild it and did something wrong or failed to set the correct preload between the upper and lower bearing sets.

@Vancbiker
There was always a small amount of vertical play (inner spindle moving relative to outer) even before I opened it up.

Spindle history:
CAT40 spindle from a Hurco BMC40 machining center built in the early 90s from what I gather. I do not own the original machine. I'm messing with it for learning purposes and plan to use it for a future machine (if possible).

I purchased it about 10 years ago and it sat until now. Judging from what I've seen it's been serviced and rebalanced before. That is all I know.

Last edited:
So it’s very possible that someone prior to you attempted a DIY spindle rebuild without knowing what they were doing.